The latest in my quest to be a significant part of leaving the world a better place than I originally found it (and that seems harder every day) has lead me to the world of the cuddliest – a person who cuddles for a living. It seems like a natural “next step” in my world of communication and contact.

A cuddle session does not have to be a full clinch hug or a spoon. It could be holding hands. It could be eye gazing. It could be sitting back to back and singing songs together. I am blessed that I can offer some coaching and Reiki healing during the session, but all of out cuddlists bring additional skills to the table. I love singing. My idea cuddle would be lying with my head in someone’s lap as they sang to me.

Cuddles can happen outside or inside. On a futon, couch or floor. Beds are generally avoided because that implies something that cuddlism (?) IS NOT. It IS NOT sexual. It is platonic. People are touch deprived. Touch is a basic biological need and a cuddlist provides it. What a great job, huh?

So, back to the knee thing. Last month I was part of the board exams for a dental school. This is a very long and uncomfortable process of having your teeth and gums  prodded twice to make sure your teeth are horrible enough to offer the students a challenge, followed by the deepest cleaning you’ll every experience (it’s for their grade, after all) and ending with three more people prodding away.

During this ordeal, I tried humming to myself (remember, I like music), meditating, going over my to-do list and reciting the four verses I remember of The Rhyme of the Ancient Mariner over and over and over to try to mentally get away from the excavation that was going on in my mouth.

None of it worked.

Then I realized that my shoulder was touching the knee of whoever was wielding the instruments of doom. I felt the human comfort coming through that three square inches of contact. It wasn’t even intentional contact, but I knew someone was there. The world went away and when contact was broken, and the world came back, I was surprised to find out the procedure was done.

This comfort continued with each of the three post-procedure inspectors.

This is real and powerful stuff. It’s healing and comforting and renewing.

So, I’m now a cuddlist and that is why. When you see me around, make sure you get your free hug. But, you know, I have been doing that for years. Now I’m certified.